An Example of Customizing Tutorials to Meet Varied User Requirements

Creating multiple versions of one and same tutorial with customized content works well. This way you are catering to a variety of target audience requirements. A good example would be the introductory tutorials in the Snagit Learning Centre.

Recently I downloaded the trial version of Snagit 9. Usually I do not pay attention to getting started tutorials in such tools. I mean if I have some problem using a particular feature only then I hunt for some learning material. I have used Captivate and Camtasia and gone through their feature tutorials for help. I usually skip tutorials that are there for introductory purposes.

The introduction tutorials in Snagit 9 caught my attention. Snagit 9 has two introductory tutorials: Introduction to Snagit for Existing Users and Introduction to Snagit for New Users.

When you start Snagit 9 for the first time it asks you if you are a first time user or if you have already used Snagit. When you make your choice, a video appears depending on what you choose. If you say you are a new user you get to see a video that gives you a brief overview on how to work with Snagit as in how to capture and edit screenshots. On the other hand if you choose the existing user option you get to see a video that tells you what’s new in Snagit 9.

I guess this is really a cool idea to give customized versions of the same tutorials.

Since I was already familiar with Snagit I was interested in watching the video that told me what is new in Snagit 9. I did not feel the need to see the Introduction to Snagit for New Users video.

Customizing tutorials or learning material helps you make content relevant to the users.

Now watch these two videos on Snagit and check how content has been cutomized:

 

 

 

Please share examples of customized content for learning material, if you have any.

One Response

  1. […] An Example of Customizing Tutorials to Meet Varied User Requirement| One-Stop Resource for Instructional Design | Rupa Rajagopalan |28 September 2008 […]

Comments are closed.

