Games Gadgets and Gizmos for Learning – Worth a Read

I have only one blog post to my credit this March. I have been doing umpteen other things.

I have been working on the help manual. I went for a short vacation. I read a nice book of short stories on my way back from vacation. I did quite a bit of shopping and got myself fresh new set of clothes and the list goes on and on.

I virtually dissected a frog today, though I would not have dare do it in real, or may be I would never have got a chance because I have not been a science student. I found the virtual frog dissection really interesting. Thanks to Prof Karl Kapp for posting it.

Well, these obviously are not reasons for not blogging. Somehow it just did not happen.

This does not mean that I have been out of the blogging sphere. I have been closely following my fellow bloggers and carefully reading their blog posts.

Of all the time I spent in March, reading Prof Karl Kapps book called Gadgets, Games, and Gizmos for Learning has been the most delightful experience ever.

When I read the book, the thought that came to my mind was : This is exactly what I want to happen!

This book is certainly worth a read and I strongly recommend this book for all organizations including, schools, colleges, corporate houses and training institutes and for teachers, trainers, people in leadership roles in workplaces and even parents.

I was able to closely relate to everything that was said in the book. Prof Karl Kapp‘s book seems to be a strong urge for a workplace revolution because the new generation – the Gamers are entering.

Boomers are going to retire and the workplace is going to be hoarded with the new generation (Gamers). What does this new generation expect? Will the current generation of youngsters accept the Boomer way of doing and looking at things? What would the new generation of youngsters expect from their jobs? How can the Knowledge Transfer happen from the Boomers to the new generation ? How would the new generation prefer learning things? How do you cater to the needs of the new generation and meet their expectations? What would be the best approach to handle the new generation?

You will find some answers or rather thoughts on such questions in this book.

I liked the book very much because it is very realistic. I do not belong to the Gamer generation, yet I exhibit all gamer traits and am a gamer in every sense.

At my workplace

  • I want to be challenged and not micromanaged
  • I want to discover rather than be taught
  • I want excitement when I learn and do my work
  • I want to make mistakes and learn from those mistakes
  • I want to gain as much as possible
  • I want to be as creative as possible and not told that this the only way to do things
  • I want a mentor and not a boss
  • I cannot wait to grow
  • I would not wait till information is given, rather I would hunt for it and get much more than is required
  • I need clues or guidance and not lectures
  • I need a clear goal and I need to achieve it
  • I cannot wait long for feedback and assessment
  • I want flexibility

Well, I long for so many more things. Yet there is something or someone at every stage that or who does not allow me to stick to my gamer traits.

Gone are the days when people resorted to text books for information. Wikis, blogs and social networking sites like Orkut, Facebook and Second Life are in vogue. I just hope organizations realize the upcoming trend and revamp the way they have been doing things or the way they have been handling their employees.

Coming to Instructional Designing, probably we instructional designers need to come up with new ideas and concepts to design e-learning courses. Bloom, Gagne, Keller and other theorists certainly provide good foundation. But ADDIE and ARCS models might not suffice.

Your target audience might know much more than what you are giving them or probably expect much more than what you can give them.

We need to innovate and create with existing models and materials. Quite a bit of challenge…. isn’t it?

Thank you Prof Karl Kapp for writing such a wonderful book. Reading the book once is not enough 🙂

5 Responses

  1. Rupa, I haven’t read Karl Kapp’s book.

    However, I agree each of the points that you have listed about wanting them at your workplace. Having them fulfilled means a lot to me as well.

  2. Rupa,
    Hello and thank you for the great review of the book, I am glad you are reading it and finding it of value.
    Thanks again,
    Karl

  3. Hi Prof Kapp,

    I am so glad and honored that you created a post for me here : http://karlkapp.blogspot.com/2008/04/thanks-to-rupa.html in your blog.

    Thanks a lot again.

    Rupa

  4. I just saw this post. I’m really glad you were able to enjoy Karl’s book. I had a very similar reaction when I read it. I think one of the paradigm shifts for learning is the shift in thinking that people learn passively from lecture and glean information on their own from printed/written manuals, etc to believing that people learn actively from experience and interaction with communities. I wonder if I.D.’s need to start understanding how to foster this type of social learning instead of pushing content.

  5. You raise a valid point here Natalie.

    Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Comments are closed.

