My First Article on Technology – 9 Important Lessons I Learnt

I have just completed an article on two different technologies: BPM and BRMS.

I realize that writing about technology is not easy especially if you come from non technology background.

In this post I shall share how I went about writing my first article on technology and important lessons I learnt in my attempt to write the article.

Lessons I Learnt

#1 Research

Whenever you are asked to write on a topic you have unheard of, the first thing to do is to research on the topic.

That’s exactly what I did. For three or four days I just spent time reading a couple of articles on the web. Obviously I did not understand much.

Yet I read so that I get familiar with the technical terms used and of course the style and presentation used. I hunted for articles that would explain technology using real life examples so that I can grasp the concepts much faster. Luckily I found such articles on the web that explain technology using examples that has nothing to do with technology.

#2 Jot down Notes

My research work helped me find some four articles that I felt could help me write my article. I then focused only on reading these articles. I picked up some important points from these articles and pasted them in a Word doc.

#3 Understand the topic thoroughly

I kept reading the points I jotted down and referring to more article on the web so that I become comfortable reading about technology and I understand the concepts well. I needed to understand the concept because I had to be sure of every word that I write.

#4 Discuss the topic with experts

Apart from continuous reading, a brief discussion with my boss on the requirements of the article gave me clarity. My boss clearly explained what the article must cover. After the discussion I had an idea as to what to write. He further gave me the brilliant idea of writing the article using a case study or example.

#5 Overcome the Stumbling Blocks

I hunted for case studies in the blogs written by experts. I finally got hold of one case study which I thought can be used in my article. I read the case study thoroughly and tried to find its relevance to the subject of my article. I understood nothing.

With a vague idea, I set down to write. I obviously had lots of problems. I was not able to start with the article in the first place. Everything was in my head. But I was not able to put down anything on paper.

#6 Write the first draft even if it is bad

I wrote a rough draft of the article using all the information I had. But then I was not very sure of what I was writing. I could find missing information and the flow was also not logical.

#7 Discuss what you have written with the expert

With my rough draft in place I had further discussion with an expert in the company.

Since I had written something on the subject I was able to participate in the discussion and was able to understand the mistakes I had committed in the article.

The discussion helped me tremendously because it gave me clarity on what I was trying to achieve in the article.

Soon after the discussion I quickly improvised my article.

#8 Finalize on the TOC for your article and work on it

I wrote a brief TOC which I listed at the outset of the article as Key Takeaway

Now that I had the TOC in place I started working on it and I had a decent article with neat sections and relevant content.

I reviewed the article to check the logical flow and clarity and usage of terms. Of course I had to consult experts for suggestions and opinions.

#9 Review

Before I sent the article to my boss I reviewed it a number of times to check the flow, language and content.

